Savannah State Offers In-state Tuition to Border States

Last Updated on May 25, 2023

Hill Hall Savannah State University
Hill Hall Savannah State University

Savannah State University (SSU) has been approved to offer in-state tuition rates to residents of border states. This includes residents of Florida, Alabama and South Carolina.

The effort is part of the Complete College Georgia initiative. The University System of Georgia (USG) Board of Regents (BOR) notes in its guidance document that “providing out-of-state tuition waivers for these select institutions expands the potential student body we can recruit for these institutions. … [and] allows us to take advantage of our existing USG infrastructure and capabilities to grow our enrollment.”

Savannah State University is one of ten institutions to be approved for the waiver. The program is in place for the next three academic years. Additionally, students who enroll under the waiver will be able to maintain in-state tuition rates for the duration of their studies, even if the program is not extended, as long as they continuously meet the eligibility requirement.

The waiver is available beginning with the Fall 2015 semester. Students interested in eligibility for the waiver should contact the SSU Office of Admissions at 912-358-4338.

Scroll to Top