Retool Your School 2014 Grant Winners Announced

Last Updated on May 6, 2014

Retool Your School 2014 Grant Winners Announced

On May 5th The Home Depot announced the 2014 winners of its popular RETOOL YOUR SCHOOL Campus Improvement Grant Program. As many Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) continue to struggle for funding, this initiative, now in its fifth year, was designed to specifically reinvigorate HBCUs.

A total of 58 HBCUs competed for grants totaling $250,000 for sustainable on-campus improvements. All award Grantees will execute their projects within one hundred eighty (180) days or six (6) months after the award notification date.

Retool Your School 2014 Campus Improvement Winners

Tier 1 Grant Winner (Grand Prize $50,000)

  • Knoxville College

Campus Pride Grant Winners ($25,000 each)

  • Howard University
  • Morris Brown College
  • Oakwood University

Tier II Grant Winners ($10,000 each)

  • Claflin University
  • Huston-Tillotson University
  • Jarvis Christian College
  • JF Drake State Community and Technological College
  • Lane College
  • Lincoln University of Missouri
  • North Carolina Central University
  • Paine College
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • Shaw University
  • Spelman College
  • Stillman College
  • Voorhees College

Online voting for the 2014 program took place from February 17th – April 14. This year, the RETOOL YOUR SCHOOL program received an outpouring of support from HBCU alumni, family, friends and the community, who all joined together to show their school pride and spirit as they voted for their favorite HBCUs and projects to make an impact for generations to come.

Scroll to Top