BC-U Provost Abdullah Named Next President of Virginia State University

Last Updated on January 11, 2016

BC-U Provost Makola AbdullahAbdullah Named Next President of Virginia State University
Virginia State University welcomes Abdullah family.

President Edison O. Jackson officially announced Provost Makola Abdullah as the next president of Virginia State University (VSU) at B-CU’s Fall Commencement Ceremony. Abdullah is the 10th leader that has moved on to a presidency under Dr. Jackson’s mentorship; and the second from B-CU. Former B-CU vice president, Dr. Dwaun Warmack, was named the 19th president at Harris-Stowe University in 2014. Dr. Makola Abdullah is slated to begin his presidency at VSU on February 1st.

Virginia State University Announces New President

President Jackson is extremely excited for Dr. Abdullah, praising him for all of his accomplishments at B-CU and his effective academic leadership. “It is a pleasure to announce Virginia State University’s next president as one of my dear colleagues. Dr. Abdullah has done tremendous work here at B-CU and I am confident in his ability to lead Virginia State University,” says President Jackson. Abdullah credits President Jackson’s mentorship as one of the main reasons he has this opportunity. “I was able to openly share my career aspirations with President Jackson. He was always welcoming and offered wisdom to help me achieve the ultimate goal,” says Abdullah. “It has been a privilege to work under his tutelage.”

Abdullah is a native of Chicago and obtained his bachelor’s degree from Howard University. He earned his M.S. and Ph.D. from Northwestern University. Upon graduation from Northwestern University, he was recognized as the youngest African American to ever receive a Ph. D. in engineering. Prior to joining B-CU, Abdullah served as provost and vice president at Florida Memorial University. He also spent a 15 year-tenure at Florida A & M University, where he most recently served as the Dean and Director of 1890 Land Grant Programs in the College of Engineering Sciences, Technology and Agriculture.

Source: Bethune-Cookman University Newsroom

Scroll to Top