HBCU Journalism Schools: Accredited Program Options

Last Updated on May 31, 2023

Hampton University Journalism Program students working in the Center for Digital Media Innovation
Hampton University Scripps Howard School of Journalism Communications Center for Digital Media.

Journalism graduates are in demand around the country and abroad. It covers everything from print media to television. There are always opportunities for those who hold such degree especially now with the advent of the internet. But bear in mind that you can’t just enroll in whichever school that offers it. You have to find out first and foremost which schools offer accredited programs.

There are many benefits that go with graduating from an accredited institution. For starters, you have better chances of getting hired. One of the important things employers look into before hiring an individual is the school where he or she graduated from and whether or not the programs from that school met the standards. Further, being enrolled in an accredited program means you are more secure because you know you’re getting the best quality education around.

Take a look the compiled list HBCU journalism schools with accredited programs:

Florida A&M University, Division of Journalism

William Jiles, Director
B.S. Journalism (Reaccredited 2018)
Address: Suite 4029, SJGC Bldg., 510 Orr Drive, Tallahassee, FL 32307
Phone: (850) 599-3719
Email: william.jiles@famu.edu

Grambling State University, Department of Mass Communication

Cleo Fields Endowed, Professor/Chairman
B.A. Mass Communication (Reaccredited 2011)
Note: New degrees and emphases offered by the accredited unit since its 2011 review: multimedia sequence
Address: GSU Box 4292, Grambling State University, Grambling, LA 71245
Phone: (318) 274-2403
Email: morganfieldr@gram.edu

Hampton University, Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications

B. DaVida Plummer, Dean
B.A. Journalism and Communications (Provisional 2020)
Address: 100 William Harvey Way, Hampton, VA 23668
Phone: (757)727-5405
Email: davida.plummer@hamptonu.edu

Howard University School of Communications

Gracie Lawson-Borders, Dean
B.A. Media, Journalism & Film; B.A. Strategic, Legal & Management Communication. (Reaccredited 2016)
Address: 525 Bryant St., N.W., Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202)806-7694
Email: gracie.lawsonborders@howard.edu

Jacksonville State University, Department of Communication

Chris McCollough, Department Head
B.A. Communication (Provisional 2020)
Address: 700 Pelham Road North, Jacksonville, AL 36265-1602
Phone: (256)782-5331
Email: cmccollough@jsu.edu

Savannah State University, Department of Mass Communications

Juliana Maria D. Trammel, Chair
B.A. Mass Communications (Reaccredited 2019)
Address: P.O. Box 20634, Savannah, GA 31404
Phone: (912) 358-3378
Email: trammelj@savannahstate.edu

Southern University, Department of Mass Communications

Mahmoud A.M. Braima, Chair
B.A. Mass Communication (Reaccredited 2018)
Address: 500 Jesse Stone St., P.O. Box 9770, Baton Rouge, LA 70813
Phone: (225) 771-5644
Email: mahmoud_braima@subr.edu

North Carolina A&T State University, Department of Journalism and Mass Communication

Robbie Morganfield, Interim Chair
B.S. Journalism and Mass Communication (Mass Media Production, Multimedia Journalism, and Public Relations (Reaccredited 2016)
Address: 1601 E. Market St., Greensboro, NC 27411
Phone: (336) 334-7900
E-mail: rmorganfield@ncat.edu

Norfolk State University, Department of Mass Communications and Journalism

William Hart, Chair
B.S. Mass Communications (offered in General Broadcast or Journalism) (Reaccredited 2017)
Address: 700 Park Ave., Norfolk, VA 23504; 700 Park Ave., Norfolk, VA 23504
Phone: (757) 823-8331
Email: wbhart@nsu.edu

If you want to learn more about HBCU journalism schools program offerings, you can visit their website or contact them directly via phone or email. You can also inquire about entrance requirements, tuition, and even scholarships and grants they are offering.

Source: The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications

Last modified: August 2021


Scroll to Top